The Song of All Songs

I'm just a girl who loves; let me show you my world.

A Daughter’s Respect

Leave a comment

Bones started up again this week! I didn’t watch it on the day of the actual premiere, but waited ’til the day after to watch it with my fellow Bones fangirl. She and her mom came over for supper on Tuesday and we plugged in the PC and watched away!

I couldn’t help but notice that my friend has a tendency of… I don’t know how else to put it, but she bullies her mother. The way she speaks to her mom is just plain disrespectful sometimes, and completely hurtful at others. You can see it on her mom’s face, the flash of pain before she stashes it away. You can feel it vibrate in the air before someone changes the subject. It makes for some very awkward moments and, for someone who was raised on a litany of respect her entire life, for some jaw-droppingly shocking scenes.

I feel like it is my responsibility, as her friend who happens to be a little bit older and wiser, as the girl she knows she can tell anything to, as her mother’s friend, to address the matter in some way. I don’t know how. I don’t know when. But it is something I think I really need to talk to her about.

It just blows my mind that her mother would allow her to speak like that. If I were to talk like that to my mom, she would wallop me a good one. If I were to talk like that to my dad, I don’t think I would ever see the light of day again – and I’m only partly kidding.

I understand that it is a different scenario, being that her parents are divorced and her father lives two hours away, being that her mom has basically raised her alone. But wouldn’t that make one respect her even more? I know I do. I am majorly impressed with this woman, I look up to her, and I think that she deserves so much better than what her daughter gives her in terms of respect.

I don’t know how I’m going to talk to my friend. Like I said, I don’t know when, either. But it has to be done. Maybe I can bring up one of her favourite shows and show her that even on television I have never seen a daughter speak like that to her mother.

Author: katmorrissette

I am just a girl who loves. Let me show you my world.

Leave a Reply

