The Song of All Songs

I'm just a girl who loves; let me show you my world.

Not Such a Bad Word

Leave a comment

Sorry guys, but I won’t lie – this post was written for the fathers in my life. It is a by-product of it being Father’s Day and wanting to (I can’t find the word in English) souligner their worth to me. So thanks for reading; now go find a father in your own life to thank!

      It’s not a word I particularly like. Father. It’s not a bad word – but it’s not my favourite.

It is someone who provides for you.

It is someone who disciplines you.

It is someone who tells you what you did wrong and how to fix it.

It is someone who supervises.

It is someone who made you.

      But I’ve come to know that

It is also someone who ushers you in and listens to your dreams.

It is someone who gives you wise council.

It is someone who offers you a ride and an ear.

It is someone who pokes fun at you and winks when you frown.

It is someone who wraps an arm around you and has eyes wet with pride.

It is someone who offers a solution.

It is someone who brings a drill.

It is someone who tells you “Congratulations.”

It is someone who asks you, “Why don’t I get a hug?”

It is someone who tells you to dream.

It is someone who tells you that you are good enough.

It is someone who opens their home to you.

It is someone who loves you.

      Perhaps “father” isn’t such a bad word, after all.

Author: katmorrissette

I am just a girl who loves. Let me show you my world.

Leave a Reply

