The Song of All Songs

I'm just a girl who loves; let me show you my world.

Flying the Nest

2 Comments

My apologies for the long delay between posts, everyone! I’ve been rather busy what with packing and moving and unpacking and having no internet or appliances. So far today I got the Internet issue fixed, if not the lack of appliances. That should be rectified later in the afternoon. But I have a foldable camping chair and a foldable little table and a laptop and Internet. And so I make my triumphant (perhaps that’s not quite the right word) return to the land of Blog.

My new apartment is quite lovely, and I sincerely wish I could have the entire blog-o-sphere over for an epic housewarming party, but I’ll have to settle for my close friends and family and stick with merely “wicked awesome” as a descriptive.

My roommate was in Mexico until late last night, so I spent the day in a mostly empty apartment (really – the only real furniture up other than my bedroom set are my two bookshelves… What does that say about my priorities?). I also went out to spend money (towels and toilet paper and bathroom cleaner, oh my!) and am now officially broke till next paycheck.

One would think that leaving my parents’ house, leaving my most-of-my-childhood home would have had an emotional impact on me, but I can’t really say that it has. Perhaps it’s just that it hasn’t sunk in yet, perhaps I’ve built a mental dam to hold it back. Perhaps it was just time for me to fly the nest. I don’t know.

What I do know is that it will be much more difficult for my roommate to adjust to no longer being with her twin sister than it will be for me to adjust to sleeping in a different building. Because that’s really all it is for me – I hardly ever saw my family, I was never home, I was always busy here or running there, and landing at home to sleep and be up and running the next morning.

So I think this situation – me no longer living at home – will be healthier, more beneficial for my family and I. No longer will we have arguments over when I come home. No longer will there be angry, motherly sighs when I have a prior engagement and cannot vacuum the house in the morning, leaving it until the afternoon. No longer will I be lectured* on my eating habits (or lack thereof).

Speaking of eating habits, perhaps I should eat something today. I’ll leave with that, and am off to get myself some Thai Express. Be jelly.

*by my parents. I’ll still be lectured, but my parents won’t be the ones doing it. Don’t worry, mom, friends and pastors do plenty of it, too.

Author: katmorrissette

I am just a girl who loves. Let me show you my world.

2 thoughts on “Flying the Nest

Leave a Reply

