The Song of All Songs

I'm just a girl who loves; let me show you my world.

I Spent the Night with Channing Tatum

Leave a comment

I just finished watching a chick-flick marathon. With tons of junk food. Wrapped in a blanket. Cuddling my cat. Yes, ladies, you know exactly why I did so. But another reason might be that Valentine’s Day is around the corner, and it fast approaches to punch me in the face with my own singleness.

The last movie I watched was Dear John. When I tell you that I cried, I’m not talking a few tears sliding down my cheek. I’m talking sat at my desk, paused the movie, and sobbed. While hormones may have been an influencing factor (may, ha!), I know that they are not the only reason I cried so hard. And they were perhaps not even the main reason I cried so hard.

It is… I can’t even think of a word to describe how difficult it is to have someone you love serving in the military. She’s not my sister by blood, but she is the sister of my heart. She has never been deployed, but it is so easy for me to imagine her somewhere, saving lives, and getting hurt or killed. It could happen. With the world in the condition it’s in, war could break out with any sudden moves, and my Ta might have to fly out. Even typing it brings tears to my cheeks.

I don’t know what I would do if God saw fit to tie my soul to a military man. Likely I would fight it with everything in me. Because, despite how I portray myself most of the time, I feel. A lot. Big emotions. Waves of them. And I imagine. I’m a writer. Imagining is my business. So painting vivid pictures in my mind comes very easily. Not that this is likely to happen. I’m just letting the chick-flicks and hormones and the upcoming Valentine’s Day (not to mention my vivid imagination) run wild.

But every time I see a military poster, or watch those YouTube videos of soldiers being reunited with their loved ones, or watch a show or movie dealing with military people, my heart clenches, my breath sobs, and my eyes fill. I can’t help it.

And I take the time, after such a video or picture or episode, to send up a prayer. In thanks. In plea. Ta is in my prayers every night – but tonight, I pray for the entirety of the Canadian Armed Forces. And the American, as well. And heck, while I’m at it, for all the men and women, around the world, who serve their countries and fight to make a better place for us.

Please, give them a passing thought as well. And tell me, if you like, your own story of family or friends in the military. I’d love to hear them.

Author: katmorrissette

I am just a girl who loves. Let me show you my world.

Leave a Reply

